Talk

Advanced search

Store manager lied so I would pass my credit rating

(45 Posts)
user1481754448 Thu 15-Dec-16 17:47:58

I recently got an iPhone S Plus on a contract. I wasn't sure if I would pass the credit rating as I've been a student most of my life and I'm currently on a full time postgraduate course.

I did explain that I had passed a credit rating with my broadband provider recently.

Anyway I wasn't asked any questions about my employment status or income and was simply told my credit check was fine and I was given the phone.

I did explain that I only had £50 in my account that day so they knew I wasn't well off.

I am very careful with money so I know I can afford the contract but I'm a bit concerned.

My papers clearly show the manager has put that I have been in employment and with the same company for over 10 years!!!! I'm not even in employment. I do get funded for my PHD but it doesn't count as employment at all.

Unless I started work at 16 I can't have been at the same place for 10 years.

I'm worried now. Do I say anything and cancel the contract? Maybe my genuine details were declined for credit so he made things up?

as far as I'm aware I have a decent credit rating but it's not perfect as I had a county court judgement against me a year ago (£10 left on a bill I knew nothing about until the judgement was made).

Aibu if I speak to the customer services about this? I don't want to get the manager in trouble.

user1481754448 Thu 15-Dec-16 17:49:15

He's also put that in in full time employment. Which I'm not.

WynterBlossom Thu 15-Dec-16 17:55:23

I'd leave it, don't say anything.
I got a contract whilst unemployed, as a student & whilst employed.

They can't find out otherwise anyway &!! I've had people like on my application in the past, I.E said I was a student when I wasn't at the time.

Nothing came of it & I have been with the phone company for 7 years

FizzBombBathTime Thu 15-Dec-16 17:58:53