To feel that men can be such twats to female colleagues at work?

(3 Posts)
Pollyanna9 Tue 29-Nov-16 19:00:24

I'm a manager - a specific type of manager. I have been given a guy to work with who's to go out to train people. He's VERRRRY experienced (apparently, and his CV would support that). Have got on v well with him to this point. Off he goes to conduct training today, the first session, having had the very fullest support and preparation from me and every opportunity to ask questions including maps of the site that he had to go to, where the nearest caf is, best place to park etc (proper TLC). He's accompanied me on my training sessions to see how it's done and knows how the software involved works.

I get a call from another manager totally out of the blue having heard nothing from my guy (this other manager technically 'supplies' this guy to this role, but I'm the manager of this 'thing', this piece of work, and I've been preparing him and working with him to do the role). "Oooh, we need to pull him from this training, this was wrong, that was wrong, the preparation of the team wasn't done well yada yada yada".

The fact is:
It was ALL done right (I absolutely 100% guarantee you - you'll just have to believe me smile)
All he had to to do was phone me with the questions he had (but he didn't) - last thing I said to him was "ANY problems at all, just give me a ring"

The assumption was made that because I hadn't left obvious, overt, billboard sized evidence of all the preparation work I'd done on the location he was going to train in meant that I hadn't done any preparation at all. I had. I'd briefed the managers, I'd booked dates and times for the training I did, I'd attended a staff meeting and talked about the software involved, and I'd already been on and trained 5 of the staff mysef.

So I get comments like this: