Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to not send my 4yr old back to this childminder??

(2 Posts)
m4dw1f3 Mon 07-Nov-16 10:18:34

my DD had been with an amazing cm from the age of 4 mths and started at a nursery in jan which was more local to her than to me. In July she gave me notice as she was going back to teaching so I had to find a new CM.

I work as a midwife so not set days but long days and nights so needed someone who could have her 8-9 and drop her off at school and pick her up at 11.45 until hubbie can collect her at 5.30.

over the summer holidays I found someone who was able to do this so signed up with her. so far things have been ok - was thoroughly spoilt with last CM so knew it would be a different arrangement but DD liked it and thought the lack of communication and frostiness was just teething problems.

new cm had 2 weks holiday over oct half term and on return i emailed her my next lot of work dates and paid her for the month and text her saying as i was off in the morning i would drop dd off if they would be ok to pick her up as arranged - no response to email or text so spent the hour around pick up time worrying that dd was going to be left and i'd get a call to collect but fortunately they did collect her.

on thursday i got a text from cm saying she had had issues with her phone and had i received a letter dated 6th oct stating she would not be able to take dd or collect dd from school for 4 weeks due to one of her staff having to have an op and recovery. i text back that no not had anything.
i text back asking for a copy of the letter, emailed asking for a copy and on friday asked one if her assistant to ask her to send me a copy - nothing!