Talk

Advanced search

To ask how you have funded a second degree?

(13 Posts)
SnowCurl Thu 13-Oct-16 10:03:57

I would like to go back to University to study a course for a vocational profession. Not Medicine or Dentistry but an Allied Health Profession. I am aware I may be able to apply for a student loan for tuition fees now that this is no longer NHS funded. However, I also have to cover childcare and mortgage. I'm just wondering if anyone has managed this and how they have funded it without assistance from family (this is not an option for me). Xxx

MadameJosephine Thu 13-Oct-16 10:13:36

When I was a student midwife we still got bursaries and I know they are soon replacing those with loans but I'm pretty sure you can still claim tax credits and they ignore the student finance so you basically get the maximum tax credits for your family

Babyroobs Thu 13-Oct-16 10:26:18

I would also be interested to know. I would like to re-train to be an Occupational therapist but have no idea how to fund it. We are not eligible for any tax credits and wouldn't be even without my wages but still couldn't afford to live and I have no idea how i would fund the course fees. I did a degree back in 1994 .

BitchQueen90 Thu 13-Oct-16 10:30:43

A friend of mine is doing a second degree and she has taken out a bank loan to fund it. Is this an option for you?

notgivingin789 Thu 13-Oct-16 10:39:04

Babyroobs NHS Bursaries for pre- registration courses like occupational therapy, physiotherapy etc will still be in place for 2017...though the year after that, I'm not so sure.

Mysillydog Thu 13-Oct-16 11:10:06

Honestly? I couldn't have done it without my dh being on a good wage. I pay up front. Unis can also charge second degree students a higher rate - more than £9k per year, but as I qualify for DSA my fees are capped at the standard rate.

HereIAm20 Thu 13-Oct-16 11:27:20