Talk

Advanced search

To Think This Odd - Police/Ambulance Related

(20 Posts)
RockinHippy Tue 30-Aug-16 18:29:38

I was concerned about a street drinker last night - on my way into a shop he was passed out stone cold face down & star shaped blocking the pavement. He didn't seem to be moving at all, but 2 others were with him. Though playing guitar/begging & ignoring him bar the odd kick.

On the way out of the shop someone had moved him into the recovery position, but on stepping around him to get past, I noticed his face looked purple & even though passed out, his eyes were half open & it looked pretty bad, but I'm no doctor

I didn't stop as his mates were a bit intimidating. I looked out for the local PCOs that are usually around, but were nowhere to be seen - so rang 101 in the hope they would get someone round to him quickly to assess the situation properly

The woman who took my call insisted on going through the usual report form, wanting my details, offering me a reference number etc - I did stop her & explained I was only reporting it as it looked like he was in a bad way & his mates looked too out of it/distracted to be much help & I was hoping maybe she could get the PCOS round to assess the situation properly - I had said exactly where he was etc

She accepted this, but then told me she would send an ambulance instead

Turns out I had several missed calls & a very stern message left on my voicemail - from the ambulance service complaining they had gone round to pick him up & he had gone

She had rang an ambulance & given them my number, which I hadn't given to her. I had made it clear I had no idea if he needed an ambulance or not, maybe the PCOS could assess as I was merely a concerned passer by

AIBU to not be chuffed about it as it looks like it was me who wasted the ambulance time
Surely this isn't normal - is it ? confused

TheSparrowhawk Tue 30-Aug-16 18:32:53