Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To ask about your disposable income pre-kids?

(14 Posts)
SarahAndTheCentaur Tue 02-Aug-16 14:03:36

I don't have kids yet and am just starting a new, pretty well-paid job. I also don't have a dp right now so theoretically should have more disposable income than if I had a family etc.

I'm moving to London and worked out that once rent, council tax, bills, travel card, v cheap gym membership are taken care of... I will really not have a lot left!

I was a student in London prior to this and am going into a well-paid grad role in the finance sector, the salary seemed very generous to me when I first saw it.

I definitely realise I'm lucky to have a job etc. so please don't flame me! Just a bit shocked as I'm not bad with money and am pretty shock it's going to go so quickly!

Any money-saving tips, Londoners?!?

SarahAndTheCentaur Tue 02-Aug-16 14:09:36

Just read that back and want to apologise if it sounds really insensitive blush

minipie Tue 02-Aug-16 14:30:06

Are you renting a place by yourself? If so then that's going to be very expensive - most single people in London (at least those under 30) house share or flat share.

Otherwise - well you don't really need a gym membership... buy some DVDs, go running, swimming at your local pool is cheap. And packed lunches rather than Pret will save you a fair bit. But those savings are relatively insignificant compared with the housing costs.

SarahAndTheCentaur Tue 02-Aug-16 14:33:40

No, I'm in a house-share in NE London. It's a really nice room but 650 per month so not terrible price-wise - don't think it would be possible to get hugely cheaper.

Good idea about lunch!

RedHareWithBlondeHair Tue 02-Aug-16 14:35:29

Housing will be your biggest cost. More so if you're planning on living alone. Make sure to save a portion of your salary each month - as a single person with a good job and no children yet this is doable.