Talk

Advanced search

To think some skills can't be (easily) taught?

(16 Posts)
LadyShirazz Fri 29-Jul-16 10:39:41

I have been asked to mentor someone within my team.

This person is a good colleague, helpful, knowledgeable about their role (which they've been in a long time), and very keen to develop.

I have been asked to help build organisational, time management and independent / critical thinking skills (i.e. ability to think more "managerially") that would help this person move on and up - but lack of which are holding her back at the moment.

I have a lot of experience in training, but nothing like this - I am at a bit of a loss as to how you'd go about building these skills, when I've always seen them as ones that are a bit more "innate", iyswim...? As in you have them or you don't...?

Any hints, tips or experiences of the same would be gratefully received!

We are the same age, if that matters - and I am one role up from her.

Salmotrutta Fri 29-Jul-16 10:42:59

For critical thinking skills can you look for problem solving exercises that are relevant to the role? Scenario based exercises?

As to organisation how about Gant charts (I once had a pupil who had to do one which is the only reason I know about them!)?

Salmotrutta Fri 29-Jul-16 10:44:09

It might be a Gantt chart actually blush

AdderDingAdderDong Fri 29-Jul-16 10:46:57

I used to work in training and I think it's less about innate skills and more about personality. Are they someone with an enquiring and flexible mind? If there is a part of their potential role that requires them to adjust how they work/behave/ interact with people can they do it?

TheSnowFairy Fri 29-Jul-16 10:50:02

Isn't this why companies pay for FE for their staff?!

Seems a lot for you to teach someone else and agree some is innate, ie time management, prioritising etc.

AdderDingAdderDong Fri 29-Jul-16 10:51:12

Horse to water, can't make them drink I mean.