To be really confused about NVQs

(32 Posts)
justnotaballetmum Sun 24-Jul-16 08:47:02

Every time a promotion comes up in my line of work I can't go for it, because I don't have an NVQ, but I can't get an NVQ because I have a degree!

Bizarre question but I would appreciate anybody who might know the answer telling me how I can obtain an NVQ! hmm

Ashamedtoadmittothis Sun 24-Jul-16 08:48:33

Nvq's are to show you have reached a level of competency in a practical subject like care or hairdressing or plumbing

Ashamedtoadmittothis Sun 24-Jul-16 08:49:15

As for applying you should be able to if you're self funding it however most are gained on the job

justnotaballetmum Sun 24-Jul-16 08:50:41

I know what they are for! I just don't know how to actually obtain one.

insancerre Sun 24-Jul-16 08:51:07

You would have to pay for it yourself
Is your degree not in the same field?
I would much rather have a staff member with a degree than an nvq

GraciesMansion Sun 24-Jul-16 08:52:10

I'm sure you can have NVQs and a degree. My dh has a PhD and got a NVQ a couple of years ago, related to his job, funded by the company he works for.

SweetPea79 Sun 24-Jul-16 08:52:39

You can get a NVQ if you have a degree, who said you can't? I have an NVQ in one subject and a degree in another.

justnotaballetmum Sun 24-Jul-16 08:53:12

No, my degree isn't in the same field.

I don't mind paying really it's just the actual logistics.

Smoothyloopy Sun 24-Jul-16 08:53:32

Having a degree doesn't stop you from getting an NVQ, I have both. An NVQ is a practical qualification showing a level of competence within a specific subject or job. Some NVQ's can only be obtained within a job setting & there for you need to get into the job & your employer would provide the training etc. Others can be achieved within a college setting & a place in college would be required. It all depends what area you would like to work in.

insancerre Sun 24-Jul-16 08:53:50