Advanced search

Who is the winner ( draughts not Brexit)?

(27 Posts)
CadleCrap Mon 27-Jun-16 01:48:33

It is whites move. They have no valid moves left.

But neither colour has the ability to win.

I think white loses. DH thinks it it a draw.

Who is BU?

MrsTerryPratchett Mon 27-Jun-16 02:07:04

White has the most on the board. Doesn't white win? No idea but I thought I'd be all AIBUy.

NotBadConsidering Mon 27-Jun-16 03:49:54

It's a draw as it stands but I fail to see how that second row of white pieces got there with a black piece being forced to jump and take one of the first row of white pieces. I presume black knows they HAVE to take a piece?

NotBadConsidering Mon 27-Jun-16 03:51:38


mamamea Mon 27-Jun-16 06:05:09

Black wins.

"1.30The game is won by the player who can make the last move; that is, no move is available to the opponent on their turn to play, either because all their pieces have been captured or their remaining pieces are all blocked."

LetThereBeCupcakes Mon 27-Jun-16 06:24:38

I agree with Notbad. Did the black player not take a turn? If so they effectively cheated.

dementedpixie Mon 27-Jun-16 06:28:05

I agree that black has not played the game properly as the rules are that if a move can capture the opposite players counter then you have to take it

mamamea Mon 27-Jun-16 08:14:55

"I agree that black has not played the game properly as the rules are that if a move can capture the opposite players counter then you have to take it"

I'm not 100% sure?

White moves to reach this position:
9-5 = safe
13-9 = safe
10-6 = under attack from 1. however if black can take another piece he is free to do so (8 white pieces + 1 = 9)
14 - 10 = safe, and 6 is now safe
11-7 = under attack from #2. black could take another piece = 2 white pieces taken by black = 10
15-11 = safe, and 7 now safe
12-8 = under attack from 3 - black could take a piece elsewhere = 3 white pieces taken = 11 total white pieces required
16 - 12 = none of white's pieces can be taken by black

So the position requires 3 white pieces to have been taken elsewhere on the board, to be legal. I'm still not 100% convinced it's possible to reach this position, but there is no immediate proof that black has broken the rules.

PotteringAlong Mon 27-Jun-16 08:17:05

Draughts-gate in the cadlecrap household. I like it! grin

NotBadConsidering Mon 27-Jun-16 08:30:44

It's impossible to reach this position. Imagine all the white pieces moved down one row, which must have been the situation at some point. As soon as the first row moves at least one of the black pieces on the home row has to take a piece, the two middle pieces.

mamamea Mon 27-Jun-16 08:38:20

"" As soon as the first row moves at least one of the black pieces on the home row has to take a piece, the two middle pieces."

But black could have taken a piece elsewhere on the board instead. If on black's turn, he moves into position to take a white piece, and then on white's turn she moves into position to put's her piece on the penultimate row, then black has the choice of either taking the piece that he moved into position to take on the previous turn, OR taking white's newly moved piece. If there is a choice, he cannot take both....

londonrach Mon 27-Jun-16 08:49:08

How on earth did you get to this position. You do realise you cant pass ever even if you dont want to move. If you can move you move, otherwise the other person wins!

CadleCrap Mon 27-Jun-16 09:00:15

It is not clear from the picture but the single black one is a Queen ( a double upped one)

CadleCrap Mon 27-Jun-16 09:12:57

By the single black one, I mean the one in the middle of the board.

LetThereBeCupcakes Mon 27-Jun-16 09:41:26

I didn't even see the piece in the middle of the board. That explains how you got into this situation. Draw then, I guess. Time for a rematch!

NotBadConsidering Mon 27-Jun-16 11:17:04

It doesn't matter that the one on its own is a double. If the white player was advancing their pieces while the black double was moving back and forth at some point a white piece would have had to have been put in front of a single black piece forcing it to take the white piece. A good white player makes sure it's only a single loss rather than a double loss and that leaves the board open for the white player to be kinged. I can't see how a the top row of white pieces were moved into their current position without at least one requirement for black to take a white piece.

NotBadConsidering Mon 27-Jun-16 11:20:24

If you just do one white move in reverse a black piece should be taking a white piece.

LetThereBeCupcakes Mon 27-Jun-16 21:42:14

But surely the black king could have chosen to move, instead of one of the ones at the back, leaving them in this situation?

dementedpixie Mon 27-Jun-16 22:16:43

If a counter is available to take then they must take it. They can't just move the counter in the middle about

whathavewedonenow99 Mon 27-Jun-16 23:12:07

Question about the rules:

There are two possible moves you can make on the board, one of them where you can jump an opposition counter but then be captured yourself and the other where you can just move a counter one space. Do you HAVE to do the jump move or can you just move the other counter one space?

Had an argument with someone about this once. I was (and am) obviously correct in that you can just move the counter one space. (Willing to be told I'm wrong by you lot but not the muppet I was playing with at the time! smile )

CadleCrap Tue 28-Jun-16 00:55:21

whathave that looks like what has happened, it was a game between DS and DH. DS was black, and I think he won. DH is claiming a draw ( as he doesn't want to be beaten by an 8 yo!)

dementedpixie Tue 28-Jun-16 06:11:41

All the rules I have seen say this: If the player has the opportunity to capture one or more of the opponent's pieces, then the player must do so.

dementedpixie Tue 28-Jun-16 06:17:53

Ds has not won as he didn't capture when he should have

LetThereBeCupcakes Tue 28-Jun-16 06:37:50

I assumed the black king had just captured a white piece, is that not what happened OP?

dementedpixie Tue 28-Jun-16 06:54:11

But the black counters In the back row should have been forced out by the white counters in front of them. You just wouldn't get a situation with 2 rows of white counters in front of them. I guess the rules weren't followed (or weren't known)

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now