Talk

Advanced search

To be upset with colleague

(8 Posts)
notyourmummy Fri 17-Jun-16 18:38:40

Long backstory, but bear with me.
I work as a 1:1 TA, supporting 2 different children in the same class (one morning one afternoon). There's another 1:1 TA in that class in the morning and we don't really get on. My morning child has a different TA in the afternoon, but my afternoon child doesn't have any support in the mornings.
Today my morning child wasn't in, so after a meeting I had arranged for me, I went back and the class teacher asked me to work with a group of children.
After a while the other 1:1 walked in from doing an activity with a group which included my afternoon child. He hadn't been very well behaved and she sent him to me, telling me what he'd done wrong and then asked why I wasn't in the group, why hadn't I told her I wasn't going to be there, she'd had 30 children on her own and had to send some back. When the class teacher said that I wasn't with that child in the morning, she replied with "but I had two of them last year, and he's special needs, and I didn't realise you weren't coming and I had all these children, on my own".
I was really upset, and felt like she was picking on me unfairly, when I was doing what I thought was the right thing and helping out the class teacher whilst my 1:1 kid was away.
But, I accept that I might be overreacting, so wibu or was she?!

ellesbellesxxx Fri 17-Jun-16 18:47:26

She sounds like a TA I work with! She was bu, you were taking direction from the CT as per your role... She was over stepping mark.

RubbleBubble00 Fri 17-Jun-16 18:48:18

Meh. She sounds like she was stressed about having to deal with 30 kids which surely a ta shouldn't be doing and a sn kid. If she had 30, how many did u and teacher have?

lougle Fri 17-Jun-16 18:48:35