Talk

Advanced search

To pull out of exam marking?

(53 Posts)
katemiddletonsnudeheels Wed 15-Jun-16 20:44:38

I have concluded I am terrible at it, feel like crying and am getting absolutely no support.

Has anyone done this before? Would I be better ringing up tomorrow and apologising but saying I can't do it?

YoureAllABunchOfBastards Wed 15-Jun-16 20:45:21

Have you spoken to your team leader?

cherrypez Wed 15-Jun-16 20:45:58

I'm also marking at the moment and am feeling shit about myself! Is it your first time? What subject?

katemiddletonsnudeheels Wed 15-Jun-16 20:51:05

It's my first time <sob>

Thought it would be a useful little money-maker - ha!

ImperialBlether Wed 15-Jun-16 20:53:56

Is it online marking? I've done that and it was awful. I didn't mind the paper marking when you'd have a weekend to go through the mark scheme. All the online training was just dreadful.

DramaAlpaca Wed 15-Jun-16 20:55:52

DH did exam marking a few years ago & he found it was very stressful. Each paper took a lot longer to mark than he expected it to. He was told not to spend so long on each one but he wanted to do his best for each candidate so didn't want to rush the marking.

He completed the job, but decided not to do it again.

PetraDelphiki Wed 15-Jun-16 20:58:32

Is this the stuff with Cambridge exams that was advertised on here? I was offered 2000 scripts but decided I didn't want to commit to that for my first time! Hoping sometime they will let me try a smaller batch first to see if I like going it...

acasualobserver Wed 15-Jun-16 20:59:12

You would not be the first person to send their scripts back. As long as you don't mind blotting your copybook with that exam board, then do it. Life's awful short.

MargotsDevil Wed 15-Jun-16 20:59:40

Is it SQA online?

TheOnlyLivingBoyInNewCross Wed 15-Jun-16 21:00:23

2,000 scripts?!

Good grief.