Night shift work

(8 Posts)
Loucuth Fri 03-Jun-16 19:19:57

Hi I need some advice about night working. This is long winded so bear with me...

I'm 27 weeks pregnant with my second baby. I have a very active toddler. I have recently started a full time job in a children's home which is a new role for me. The staff used to do sleeping night shifts but they recently changed to waking nights. The young people have very good sleeping routines and are in bed for almost all of the shift. However during the day they have occasional violent outbursts.

As we get paid for the full shift and are not allowed to leave the home during shift, we do not get an official break. However we are expected to do computer work and light cleaning duties during the 10 hour shift but stay awake.

I'm new to night work and have done some night shifts but I'm finding them horrendous. I feel exhausted during the shift, eyes sting and my back hurts off sitting at the computer. I'm struggling to adjust my sleeping pattern (do on average 2 night shifts a week as well as days) I've been grumpy with my toddler because I'm so tired and I hate the thought of going into work.

Another problem is the actual staff as well. Many of them have been there 20 odd years and are very much set in their ways and resentful of new staff starting. They are unhelpful to say the least! I don't like they thought of being given special treatment especially because I am new (and new to the role)