Talk

Advanced search

Why would you do this??!!

(19 Posts)
Abbinob Sat 14-May-16 20:46:51

DS' cousins (7 and a new baby ) came down to visit so off we went this morning to the toyshop to get something for the 7 year old (didn't want him feeling left out if we gave a gift to the baby and not him) and DS (ds is 2, and i think all the kids other than him getting a present would be mean too, it's not like it was anyones birthday) We managed to pick DS's one without him seeing.
Shop assistant scanned our stuff then picked uo the present for the 7 year old and said to DS "ooooh i suppose this is for you!" and handed it to him :/
then when we left i had to take it off him and i felt awful.
Why would you do that? I didn;t say anything cause i get that she was trying to be nice.
I'm in a bad mood today anyway but who does that!? i work in a shop and i don't hand stuff to kids and tell them it's theirs when i don't know
aibu to have been annoyed?

Abbinob Sat 14-May-16 20:52:00

I realise i am probably over reacting but poor DS was upset for ages that we took it off him.

BabyMonkeyMummy Sat 14-May-16 20:55:58

People like that in shops annoy me. I had it the other day when I was buying newborn baby clothes and the shop assistant asked when my baby's due, I told her August, and she told me I don't even look pregnant. It didn't massively piss me off but what if my baby wasn't growing properly and it was something I was worried about? I get that they're just trying to be friendly but just scan my item, take my money, smile and leave it at that.

araiba Sat 14-May-16 21:35:53

why didnt you give him his present instead?

kali110 Sat 14-May-16 21:40:53

Baby!from an ex retail i wish i could have just scanned money and that's it.
We would be pulled up and then disciplined if we didn't make conversation with every customer angry

PPie10 Sat 14-May-16 21:43:10