Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To become a solicitor?

(35 Posts)
Spid3rpig Sun 17-Apr-16 09:26:16

To cut a long story short, I did a Law degree around 5 years ago (2:1, top 5 uni) and decided when I graduated that I didn't want to become a solicitor. I then went into a completely unrelated job for a few years and in the last year decided that I hated it and actually did want to be a solicitor after all. Since making that decision I've left the other job and am now working as a Paralegal for a nice local firm. The course I'd need to complete to be a solicitor is around £15,000 and I'd need to fit it in around work and looking after a young child. There potentially could be a training contract for me where I'm working now but not sure this could be guaranteed. I don't feel like applying to a firm which funds the LPC is a realistic option right now because the job wouldn't really fit around looking after a small child. So AIBU to throw 15 grand at becoming a solicitor without a guarantee of a job at the end and, at 28, am I too old? Or should I just stay working as a Paralegal for the rest of my career? I'm genuinely stuck on this one

Grilledaubergines Sun 17-Apr-16 09:29:45

Invest the money and become a solicitor. So much more potential long term. And whilst solicitors earning a fortune is a big myth, you will earn a good and comfortable salary representative of your training, knowledge and sills and the years of study you have invested.

Faye12345 Sun 17-Apr-16 09:33:14

28 is very young. Do the training!

Carterama Sun 17-Apr-16 09:33:51

Look at CILEX instead, you will get exemptions because of your degree, and it's a much much cheaper option. There is really no difference these days between solicitors and legal executives, and if you really want to, you can still carry on to qualify as a solicitor once you've done CILEX, without the need for the expensive LPC.
Good luck, it's not a great marketplace at the moment