Talk

Advanced search

Graphic design one

(13 Posts)
oohlalala Tue 05-Apr-16 17:58:00

So you're asked to design something, leaflet, brochure etc etc. Text is provided to you as a rough version. You put the thing together, make it look pretty, then the client statts sending about 50 million text amendments for you to go through because they couldn't provide you with the signed off agreed text. Grrrr. That is all.

MrsBobDylan Tue 05-Apr-16 18:32:17

I work on the other side of this and feel your dispair. It is my life's fucking work trying to explain that it will not speed things up to send over the text we've got, until it's completed and proofed.

Also, idiotic amendments like 'can the designer make this page look more creative...'.

ollieplimsoles Tue 05-Apr-16 18:37:30

YANBU,

I'm an illustrator and my agents are supposed to protect my time from client's little changes of mind... but it never happens.

"it's great but could you go back through the book and remove the mouse's clothes?" after they told me the mouse should wear dungarees.

seven201 Tue 05-Apr-16 19:12:02

I used to do a bit of freelance graphics. I did a Chinese take away leaflet once and when I sent the first version added that if they wanted me to correct their English (it was awful) then I didn't mind. They said yes and I spent ages correcting it for them to later ask to change it back to the incorrect version confused. I think I got £40 for that leaflet and they were annoyed that I didn't want to come and sit in their restaurant that was not near where I lived while I made the leaflet.

Girlwhowearsglasses Tue 05-Apr-16 19:26:05

That's what Lorem Ipsum is for - never design with draft text in place. Always use Lorem Ipsum and agree that they've spell checked their own text first- or it's extra to proof it.

It's also easier to 'see' the design and not get hung up on wording.