Talk

Advanced search

to wonder if my son is hitting all age appropriate goals.

(22 Posts)
cjt110 Tue 15-Mar-16 10:45:36

My son is 19m. Nursery say he's doing great and hitting all milestones as he should. He started when he was around 9m old (on his belly commando style) and crawled properly at about 11m. He took his first steps at 15m, walking confidently within a few days of his first steps.

He can just about spear food with a fork (with help at times), can't really manage a spoon without emptying the contents before it gets to his mouth, he holds his hands out and does a grabbing motion when he wants something or to be picked up, he will follow instructions like to sit down or to put something back.

He has little verbal skills - He says "Baa Baa Shu" for Baa Baa Black Sheep and "Ye Sh Ye Sh" for Yes sir yes sir. He also says Da for his Dad, sometimes Mamamama for me when he's upset.

I have no experience with children other than my son and I so desperately want him to talk and have proper words! I know all children are different but so many others are saying words and they are younger than him!

thinkingofayear Tue 15-Mar-16 11:19:44

Mine were all slowwwwww to use proper words despite my manic talking and trying to encourage them. They probably didn't start taking until 2+. 3 of them were referred for speech therapy, BUT by the time the appointments came through they were talking in full sentences with really good vocab for some reason they just started late but then improved quickly.

Your son sounds totally normal to me smile

cjt110 Tue 15-Mar-16 11:22:48