Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

to stay off due to strep throat?

(15 Posts)
rockabella Tue 15-Mar-16 07:37:29

I'm a student, working on my graded unit in a subject that involves being up close to work on clients. At least 3 of my fellow students have very young children (not sure if relevent).

I have a bad case of strep throat, to the point I can barely up and about, I'm utterly exhausted,feverish and in pain and my neck resembles that of the elephant man. GP reluctant to give anti-biotics as they didn't speed up the healing process last time and I tend to try and battle things out due to not wanting to increase my anti-biotic resistance. I emailed my lecturer yesterday and received a very unsympathetic reply about how it's important I show my dedication and that she needs to pass my first stage of graded unit before I can move on with it, that a "sore throat" is nothing to worry about in terms of client contact and is threatening to mark my work as "not received" if I don't come in today.

I've completed this work and can e-mail it in, which I told her and the point was ignored.

AIBU to stay at home? Do I need to "man up"? For lack of a better term and just go in and present something I can email in. I'd have thought not spreading an awful bug to clients and classmates would have been relatively important.

hollinhurst84 Tue 15-Mar-16 07:43:09

No. Stay off

Micah Tue 15-Mar-16 07:49:29

"Strep throat" as in you've been swabbed and tested positive for streptococcus?

Cant the gp write you a sick note if it's that bad?

Lonecatwithkitten Tue 15-Mar-16 07:52:30

Strep throat if confirmed is very responsive to the right antibiotics. GP not wanting to give antibiotics thinks it is viral.
You have a nasty virus if you have a temperature stay home and drink plenty.

Krampus Tue 15-Mar-16 07:55:21

Surely it's not about the actual illness but how bad you feel overall?