Talk

Advanced search

To apply for this job...

(4 Posts)
dandydesmond Mon 14-Mar-16 11:08:09

A lot of things have changed significantly in my life recently (ie over the last 3 months). Long term relationship ended, briefly dated someone else then ended that just last week as he was a dick, moved out of my home (shared with ex), sold the house and am now renting again, etc etc. Massive upheaval.

Anyway, an interesting job opportunity has come up. i'm a lawyer and i work in London at a magic circle firm... so currently extremely good pay, but bad hours, awful senior people and terrible work/life balance, but interesting work, I have some great friends here (I trained here and have been qualified for a few years) and I feel comfortable.

This job opportunity represents a major pay cut and a massive change, but the work/life balance would be much better, the expectation would be lower and the work is a bit more varied than what I currently do. I've wanted to leave my job for various reasons for a long time, but they really relate to the senior staff and the work/life balance only.

I would like to apply for this new job, but I am terrified that I am going to regret changing absolutely everything about my life in such a short space of time. Now that I'm on my own, a major pay cut (though manageable from a bills point of view) scares me too because I am worried about losing my buffer and my ability to get a mortgage in London (I'd be going down from a 6 figure salary with bonuses to a mid-five figure salary with very little bonus possibility).

I'm also terrified that it would end up being "same shit, different people" or something like that, and I'd be leaving a place where I have great friends for an unknown...

What do you think?

centigrade451 Mon 14-Mar-16 11:25:45

It depends if you are still working for a lawfirm or going for in house in a company. Also, how many years post qualification are you?