Talk

Advanced search

Tell letting agency to back off - or suck it up?

(12 Posts)
ThePartyArtist Thu 25-Feb-16 18:20:37

My DH and I have been renting a flat for 13 months. During this time, the agency has made 4 inspections on the property - the first of which was when we'd only been here a month. I assumed with the first one it was just to check tenants weren't running a cannabis farm or something, so was surprised when they continued to do these inspections so regularly. Obviously it's not a real issue but it does make us feel slightly like kids being told to tidy their bedrooms! Slightly invasive... so today after the inspection the agency emailed and said the landlady would like to thank us for keeping her property in such good condition. Part of me thinks that's quite nice, part of me thinks it's patronising, and part of me thinks I'd like to say to them 'Great - does that mean we can be trusted a bit more and not have you coming round so often as we feel it's a bit invasive and distrusting of us' (but in politer words)! Would this be a bad idea? Obviously don't want to fall out with them as previous tenants told us they had lots of hassle with them trying to fine them for things like nails in the wall that had been there since before they moved in - and we don't trust landlords or letting agents not to pull dirty tricks!

RidersOnTheStorm Thu 25-Feb-16 18:23:25

It's a condition of our LL insurance that the property is inspected every 3 months, maybe it's the same for your LL.

AnotherCider Thu 25-Feb-16 18:24:43

Quarterly inspections isn't unusual. The best agency we had (in terms of keeing up with mantenance) did quarterly inspections and the inspector would flag things she felt needed fixing on our behalf.

londonrach Thu 25-Feb-16 18:25:02