Joint finances - Aibu?

(41 Posts)
DiamondStuddedFlunkie Thu 25-Feb-16 09:27:28

I expect I probably am but would like some thoughts.

Ex DH and I separated three years ago. We had 3 young DC and he had an affair and left me for someone else.

I had always been a sahm. We were comfortable financially and although I have a degree I'm not really qualified to do anything.

After the separation I claimed income support. I had a property but no source of income.

I met DP 2 years ago. After a year we decided to live together. Because we were living together I was no longer entitled to claim income support.

He is expected to support me, but he doesn't. My youngest starts school in September and I have just found out I am pregnant. It is unplanned and I'm panicking. I was hoping to start some kind of career.

DP owns a business, he earns an average wage. He keeps a good friend on the payroll even though the guy loses DP money and cannot do the job.

I feel that DP's responsibilities should lie closer to home. I cook and clean and feel I contribute more towards the relationship.

Aibu?

gooseberryroolz Thu 25-Feb-16 09:30:18

He is expected to support me, but he doesn't

Then he needs to change ASAP or go. He can pay CM for the baby.

How will you manage otherwise?

DiamondStuddedFlunkie Thu 25-Feb-16 09:32:09

When I claimed income support I received around £70 per week.

I didn't want to claim benefits but as a newly single parents with three young DC I wasn't sure what to do. I didn't want any more disruption in their lives.

QuiteLikely5 Thu 25-Feb-16 09:32:51

What does he contribute?

And why move him in if it was going to compromise your finances?

DiamondStuddedFlunkie Thu 25-Feb-16 09:33:58

He pays a third of the mortgage and bills. He also buys the big food shop every other week.

QuiteLikely5 Thu 25-Feb-16 09:34:08

It's tricky, I think you and your ex are responsible for all costs relating to your three children.