Teachers who have had other jobs

(21 Posts)
ListObsessed Wed 17-Feb-16 11:49:01

This isn't really an AIBU so apologies in advance.

I'm a teacher and I'm currently seriously looking into alternative employment.

I'm very aware that teachers and other public sector workers are often perceived to be moaners with no clue about 'the real world'. I can't comment on this as teaching has been my only job other than part-time shop work when I was at college and uni.

I would love to hear from teachers with other experience about how teaching compares to their old careers, or how their new careers compare to teaching.
Do you regret leaving teaching?

megganonion Wed 17-Feb-16 11:52:56

My mum and sister where both teachers. Both left it now one is a nurse other is a midwife and neither would go back they say the satisfaction from looking after people in hospital is amazing depends on the person. They both had to retrain another 4 years of uni!

TeresaGreene Wed 17-Feb-16 11:56:41

Thank you for starting this thread, I've just applied for voluntary redundancy from my teaching job so I'm watching with interest.

shopaholic85 Wed 17-Feb-16 11:58:10

OP, I am not surprised you are considering leaving the profession. I'm a teacher too and seriously contemplating a career change, but, like you, I have only ever worked in teaching, so have no idea whether a change would be better. My DH is a teacher too, but only started teaching in his early 30s. He finds is stressful, but much prefers it to his previous jobs, so is able to deal more objectively with his feelings about wanting to leave when things are particularly tough.

giraffesCantReachTheirToes Wed 17-Feb-16 11:59:10

www.mumsnet.com/Talk/_chat/2572425-If-you-were-once-a-teacher-whats-your-job-now?watched=1&msgid=59331288#59331288

Sighing Wed 17-Feb-16 12:04:49