Talk

Advanced search

to think that the BBC are morally wrong to do this?

(115 Posts)
OhYouLuckyDuck Sat 13-Feb-16 11:24:29

On Back in Time for the weekend the family take out the piano and replace it with a television. They are then shown smashing the piano. I am incensed at the waste and the message that this sends out to people that it's OK to throw away perfectly good stuff that can be used still.

hiddenhome2 Sat 13-Feb-16 11:27:59

Was it a functional piano?

It might have been just for show and a rubbishy one. There are a lot of them around.

On the whole though, it's just unpleasant vandalism to smash stuff up sad

BelfastSmile Sat 13-Feb-16 11:29:00

Agree entirely. It also says "I don't want this, so no one else will".

UndramaticPause Sat 13-Feb-16 11:29:24

It was functional. It really upset me too but I'm a musician and to me that's akin to smashing up a small child

Trills Sat 13-Feb-16 11:29:49

Most likely it was not "perfectly good".

Objects are destroyed in order to make TV shows all the time.

Some objects are created specifically in order to be filmed being destroyed.

OhYouLuckyDuck Sat 13-Feb-16 11:30:02

Yes, it was certainly a functional piano.

araiba Sat 13-Feb-16 11:30:42

get over yourself

OhYouLuckyDuck Sat 13-Feb-16 11:30:59

Oh, and the presenter's justification "It's what they did"

You can say that about lots of things that weren't ok, it doesn't make it OK to do it now.

Greydog Sat 13-Feb-16 11:32:00

I saw that on the trailer and thought I'd give the prog. a miss - the first one wasn't up to much, and I agree with the OP - there was no need to do this.

Schoolchauffeur Sat 13-Feb-16 11:32:18