Talk

Advanced search

To ask for your experience of what works best in terms of shared care

(11 Posts)
Theladyloriana Tue 26-Jan-16 14:19:22

Just wondering what other people have found? DC are 6 and 1.

I'm nervous and would prefer every other weekend and a night during the week. H wants every other night during the week and every other weekend.

Tia

Theladyloriana Tue 26-Jan-16 14:20:35

I should add he is quite depressive and finds it difficult to cope with both and works long hours. I want my kids to have the best possible relationship with their df.

Theladyloriana Tue 26-Jan-16 14:26:10

I mean, i would prefer to be the main carer

TeenAndTween Tue 26-Jan-16 14:32:45

I have no experience of this.
But
Surely with every other night the children won't know if they are coming or going?

Theladyloriana Tue 26-Jan-16 14:42:06

I would have though so, yes

eyebrowse Tue 26-Jan-16 14:54:39

I don't have personal experience but I thought 50:50 generally was one week with mum and one week with dad so not too much transferring. I think 50: 50 can only really work if both parents continue to live in the same locality and both are willing to take children to afterschool activities so they get a bit of a social life as they get older.

If he is going to continue to work long hours and you are going to continue not to work long hours then your plan sounds better.

If he might argue he is going to change his hours (or that you are going to need to work longer hours to support yourself) you might need to think about specific examples of how he can't cope with both children

MyNewBearTotoro Tue 26-Jan-16 14:58:00

I imagine with your DC still quite young every other night will be too disruptive for them. If splitting care 50% I imagine it would be better to do a block of consecutive days (eg: he has them every Mon & Tues, you have every Thurs and Fri and you take it in turns for Weds and weekend) or have a week on/ week off system so your children can feel settled.