Talk

Advanced search

To think I can start dancing at nearly 30

(23 Posts)
thinknoodles Sun 24-Jan-16 14:23:40

Okay, not sure if u have seen my previous thread about my son and ballet, but anyway... I want to go ahead and start classes too, probably just in tap... I don't wanna get ahead of myself, but I just want to prove to my son how it's okay and it'll be nice that we have an interest - am I being stupid in thinking I could start from a complete beginner? grin

Narp Sun 24-Jan-16 14:26:46

No, of course not. I do tap classes, and many of the women in the class either have not danced before, or had classes when they were little.

It's really fun, especially if you enjoy rhythm. It's a challenge for the brain too - tap especially I think

ItsAllGoingToBeFine Sun 24-Jan-16 14:26:52

Of course you can!

I've just started ballet at 37...

Narp Sun 24-Jan-16 14:28:13

And I think it's great to show your children that you are willing to get stuck in a try something new - although that was never my primary aim

StrawberryDelight Sun 24-Jan-16 14:29:09

Going from your previous thread, it's your DH who has the problem, not your ds at the moment.

And to be frank, should your DH's ridiculous and sexist views rub off on your ds then the fact his mum takes a dance class is unlikely to make him think that that means dance is OK for boys.

On the dance aspect itself though, no of course you can start dancing now. My dc's dance school runs adult beginners classes. My uncle has started learning Salsa at age 60 - you're never too old.

thinknoodles Sun 24-Jan-16 14:32:01

I know, but I would love to go, I watched his class and it looked a lot of fun grin

breezydoesit Sun 24-Jan-16 14:50:02

My mum is 65 and started ballet classes with the Scottish ballet. Absolutely loves it. Do what makes you happy. I say go for it.

CaveMum Sun 24-Jan-16 15:12:34

It's never too late to start dancing!

HelenaJustina Sun 24-Jan-16 15:16:41

Never too late, you'll have a blast!