Talk

Advanced search

To be feeling like I've ruined everything in my life, and I'd like to start again?

(27 Posts)
TypicallyEnglishMustard Fri 22-Jan-16 14:59:49

Apologies, this should definitely be in Staffroom, and it is essentially me just being whiny and attention-seeking, but I thought that others here may have been in similar situations, and could help. I don't feel like I can talk to anyone IRL.

I'm a secondary school English teacher, and I've been sent home from work today because I broke down before tutor time this morning. I'll admit that I have been struggling a lot at work lately, and I've started to feel a constant sense of paranoia, and that someone is always watching me, and waiting for me to mess things up, like have lots of kids under target on data, or for a member of SLT to do a learning walk and my books aren't marked well enough. I've also not been well recently (I have chronic asthma, which I've struggled with loads the last couple of weeks) so I think that's been dragging me down as well.

We had ofsted last year, and did really well on it for the first time in many years, but the workload has actually got much, much bigger this year, e.g. My head of department wants us all to write a full A4 page of individualised feedback per child per half-termly assessment, something I'm struggling to do whilst also keeping up with Year 11 controlled assessment marking, and Year 13 coursework essays, and the children's usual workbooks.

My department is staffed almost exclusively by young women all the same age as me (we are all mid twenties to early thirties), and it's totally cut-throat. Everyone sees everything as a huge competition so they can look good for SLT. I actually have no desire to climb the education ladder, I just want to be a good classroom teacher, but they see me as a threat along with one another, so there's no one I can really turn to in the department for any support, or to speak to about problems.