Talk

Advanced search

to feel miffed that DS doesn't want me to read to him anymore!

(48 Posts)
cakedup Fri 15-Jan-16 13:20:20

I have been reading DS(10) bedtime stories every single night since he was a couple of years old. I would read to him for 30 - 45 mins, sometimes more.

When he was ill and off school one day, I found some online audio stories for him to listen to, which he enjoyed. In fact he enjoyed them so much, he wanted to carry on listening to them that evening in place of me reading his bedtime story. Ooh nice to have an evening off, I thought!

Then he wanted the audio the next night. Then the next...until 2 weeks later I realised I'd been given the boot sad .

I asked him what he liked about the audio stories that would make him want to replace his mother for a machine and he told me he liked the way they were read and the different voices they had for the characters.

shock hmm And before you think that is reasonable, I should mention that I have a drama degree and read very well, character voices and all thank you.

It's now two months later. We are scraping the barrel in finding some decent audio stories online but absolutely no sign of me returning to my role.

As an aside, he is profoundly dyslexic so has never been able to read chapter books himself so I thought I'd be story telling for a lot longer. I did not expect for it to end so soon and so abruptly.

Other recent changes: he has just started walking to/from school alone (I was doing all drop offs/pick ups before), for the first time ever is keeping his bedroom door closed - first during the day and now even at bedtime. He put a 'please knock' sign on his door too shock !

AIBU to feel a bit miffed I'm less needed as well as a bit proud that ds is getting more independent?

And do you think him not wanting me to read bedtime stories to him anymore is just a part of his whole growing up thing that he's doing at the moment? What other reason could there be?