Talk

Advanced search

To want to give up my job and ask for your experiences?

(22 Posts)
Maybejustme Mon 11-Jan-16 20:25:05

I am a lawyer. It has always been a bit stressful but I think I'm fundamentally just not very suited to it. I have tried the City and in house and we have moved out of London and I have tried a regional firm but I'm still almost paralysed with fear some days at the potential for screwing things up. Months of CBT has helped a bit but hasn't solved it completely.

I would love to pack it in and be a SAHP but I just don't know if I'm brave enough. Please, I would be grateful for your experiences. Are there any ex lawyers out there who have re-entered the best workplace a few years down the line in a different field? I feel like I could spend my whole life on the edge of madness if I stay but am too afraid to close my eyes and jump. I don't know if I would ever be any use in any workplace ever again. Anyone else feel like this?

Babycham1979 Mon 11-Jan-16 20:27:50

I'd recommend looking at the thread from last week about a primary school teacher wanting to do a conversion and become a lawyer. As of Friday, there were at least 17 pages of horror stories from city lawyers who hated their work. You are not alone!

GingerPCatt Mon 11-Jan-16 20:32:12

Totally different job but similar circumstances. It was stressful and I hated it and it was effecting my mental health. I had to get out so had a long talk with DH about our finances. We could afford for me to quit and be financially stable for a few months but I would need to work.
Quit my job and have now found something part time that I'm really enjoying. The pay is less but it's enough and I am SO much happier.
If you are that unhappy and can afford it, quit! If it doesn't work for you as a SAHP then find a part time job in another area.
Life's to short to be miserable.

IonaNE Mon 11-Jan-16 20:32:54