Talk

Advanced search

To want an early night

(18 Posts)
Gailplattsmissingchin Wed 23-Dec-15 12:56:33

Dss and dsd want to stay with us for hogmany.
I have a 5 week old ds and Dh is working that night until 5am.
My plan is to have a small baileys and crawl into bed about 10, ready for the 4am feed.
I don't want two teens trying to stay up past their bed time because it is a special night.
I might BU. I'm knackered. And
Sore

Enjolrass Wed 23-Dec-15 13:09:43

How old are they?

Can you leave them up with strict instructions to keep the noise down?

LillyBugg Wed 23-Dec-15 13:12:55

Why do they want to stay?

Gailplattsmissingchin Wed 23-Dec-15 19:28:55

Their mum is going out and they don't wanna be stuck at their grans lol they are 13 and 14.

LillyBugg Wed 23-Dec-15 19:32:55

I'm no expert at all but at that age I reckon you could leave them to it. They'll know you want to be in bed with baby and I'm sure they will just watch the good tv, the fireworks and then no doubt fall asleep on the sofa. If they're usually trustworthy, just give them strict instructions and let them get on with it.

VashtaNerada Wed 23-Dec-15 19:36:58

5 week old? I wouldn't want two teenagers round if I could help it! Can you just say that you're worried about the baby waking them up at 4am and they might be happier at their gran's after all?

SixtyFootDoll Wed 23-Dec-15 19:41:46

I'd leave them to stay up and watch tv if they want to, you can go to bed.
They don't need constant supervision.
Leave them some snacks.

acquiescence Wed 23-Dec-15 19:47:55

5 week old sleeping from 10 til 5am? Sounds amazing!

TooShyShyHushHush Wed 23-Dec-15 19:58:15

Load up the snacks and leave them to it. You don't have to supervise them at that age surely.

QuiteLikely5 Wed 23-Dec-15 20:00:22

At their age you can carry out your original plans. Be pleased they want to spend time with you!

Hihohoho1 Wed 23-Dec-15 20:03:42