Talk

Advanced search

Using student discount if not a student

(27 Posts)
DyslexicScientist Mon 21-Dec-15 08:18:56

I have a lifetime .ac.uk address from my old uni. Some sites give student discounts to anyone with an .ac.UK address.

Is this fraud to get the discount if they accept my address that clearly has graduation year in it?

DoesntLeftoverTurkeySoupDragOn Mon 21-Dec-15 08:21:57

The clue is in the name.

It is a student discount and you are not a student.

I imagine it depends on your personal morals.

Nataleejah Mon 21-Dec-15 08:35:40

I kept my student id's after graduation until they expired. Expiration date was the end of the year, not graduation date.
Don't feel i did anything too wrong.

DyslexicScientist Mon 21-Dec-15 08:46:17

Soup but I still do help out at the uni and feel like I'm still learning.

Not sure if its a moral decision, they only give these discounts to bost revenue not as some charity work.

Caboodle Mon 21-Dec-15 08:48:03

Yanbu. I bought 2 dresses in Selfridges last week and (because I had seen it on TV) got DH to ask if I could have a discount....lovely shop assistant give me the student discount (15%). My student days are loooong gone. grin

SouthWesterlyWinds Mon 21-Dec-15 08:49:36

IIRC university members of staff can purchase a NUS year long membership for a nominal fee. It's not well publicised but if you've purchased the member shy for £10-20, you'll probably get more in discount and maybe won't feel the same way.

ChristmasZombie Mon 21-Dec-15 08:51:37

I did it. I completed a postgraduate qualification in 2008, but my student id card was valid until 2011. I used it until it expired.

Cumberlover76 Mon 21-Dec-15 08:54:18