Talk

Advanced search

to wish my friend would for once just say 'yeah that sounds shit'.

(8 Posts)
Junosmum Thu 17-Dec-15 22:46:01

I have a friend, she considers herself a good friend. She lives a long way away (several hours by car or PT) so we rarely see each other.

I rarely hear from her unless she's had some catastrophe or alternatively some amazing news, she never calls/ texts just to see how I am (I call and text her to ask). When she does call I always sympathize/ commiserate/ congratulate/ support/ offer help as required etc - I've given relationship advice, written CVs for her, done interview prep etc etc.

She's recently given birth- she got HELPP, it was horrid, she was in hospital for 9 days. She and baby are doing well now, 12 or so weeks later.

I'm 35 weeks pregnant, I have a UTI, a tooth abscess and generally feel a bit crap. She text me asking how I was and telling me her partner had got a promotion (she often gloats about how much he earns etc), I texted back 'congratulations to blah blah, sounds like a good move for him. I feel crap, got a UTI and abscess'. She responded with 'well that's better than HELPP'.

She does this all the time, constantly one upping - if my DH has got a new job, her DP earns more (the fact that we have a better combined income and share finances more equally and own our own house don't enter her head), if I have a cold she has flu, if DH and I have had a row, she and DP had a bigger one. DH's gran passed away, she couldn't even say 'oh, how sad', just yeah, my mum is ill (with a cold).

I should ditch her shouldn't I? Right now I can't think of a redeeming feature of this friendship.

CocktailQueen Thu 17-Dec-15 22:47:20

Yep, I'd ditch her. She doesn't add anything positive to your life.

cailindana Thu 17-Dec-15 22:48:13

Yup, ditch.

VenusRising Thu 17-Dec-15 22:51:20

Juno, that sounds shit!
I hope you are feeling much better soon, and have an easy and pleasant birth, and speedy recovery.