Talk

Advanced search

To offer to work boxing day so I can avoid a family christmas?

(19 Posts)
foxessoxes Wed 16-Dec-15 00:05:24

Im 25 and just hate Christmas. I really do.

I dont get on too well with my family, especially my brother. We cant be in the same room as each other without there being an argument. Im completely different to them- i can rarely join in with dinner conversations, dont watch the same TV and not interested in the same things. Plus, my mother seems to think its acceptable to leave my grandmother alone in a nursing home without nobody else to visit. Yes, she has dementia. Yes, it will be disturbing to her to bring her to our house. But to not even visit her? I think thats just shit if im honest and has left a sour taste in my mouth

Not to mention im working Christmas Eve. i work in retail and naturally this is our busiest time of year. Im working a minimum of 60, more like 70 hours a week at the moment (doesnt help we are v short staffed!) and cant be arsed with a 150 mile journey to my parents after work. I just want to go home, get into my pyjamas watch shit christmas movies and drink copious amounts of wine and eat copious amounts of chinese food.

My boss asked me today if I would mind working Boxing Day- I said yes- a) to avoid a family Christmas and b) because she has small children and im childless.

I phoned my Mum this evening and apparantly im being "very selfish". Ive assured them I will send them their gifts for the day, and will come and visit for an overnight in the New Year but this isnt good enough apparantly.

AIBU? Im just so fucking exhausted right now and I dont need to live through my own episode of Eastenders to make it even worse.

ephemeralfairy Wed 16-Dec-15 00:13:19

YANBU. I am doing EXACTLY the same as you OP, for similar reasons. It has not gone down well. But I am contracted to work whatever hours they need me over xmas/new year.
YANBU.

FedUpWithJudgementalPeople Wed 16-Dec-15 00:17:30