Talk

Advanced search

to not want to buy my own Christmas present?

(15 Posts)
lifeinslowmotion Tue 15-Dec-15 23:39:04

I've been with DP for 12 years and in all that time I don't think he has once bought me a Christmas present that has been chosen by him and that he has surprised me with. He doesn't have to spend a lot of money but I'm so fed up of having to buy my own presents or otherwise going without. So AIBU?

Nonidentifyingnc Tue 15-Dec-15 23:48:26

No yanbu. It's not good enough for him to just not bother. But yabu to have put up with it all these years. Tell him to make a bloody effort.

citybushisland Tue 15-Dec-15 23:54:43

No yanbu, I've been buying my own for 20 years (and his parents,siblings,nieces and nephews etc), but it's my own fault - I didn't appreciate the first christmas present he bought me so he told me I could buy my own in future and he'd give me the cash (joint a/c once married so moot). The first present btw was a nightshirt, with a crudely drawn and coloured cow with the caption 'Moo' FFS. my presents have cost him A LOT ever since

foxessoxes Tue 15-Dec-15 23:54:47

YANBU. Give him a list on Saturday morning of things you want and send him out shopping. Or give him a tablet/computer/phone if he really cant be arsed. Will take him 10 minutes to decide a budget and buy from what you want.

LorelaiVictoriaGilmore Wed 16-Dec-15 01:09:39

YANBU. I was out buying my own Christmas present today and felt a bit fsad

TheHouseOnTheLane Wed 16-Dec-15 01:52:00

Mine asks me what I want which I always feel is a bit crap but at least he tries. In previous years I've told him "I like X shop. Go in there and use your imagination" and it did work....he asked the staff to help him bless him.

You could do that.

This year I did want a specific thing and asked him to get that.

Krampus Wed 16-Dec-15 07:49:35

Please tell me that you no longer buy him one?

Thingschangingagain Wed 16-Dec-15 07:52:55