Talk

Advanced search

Aibu to not offer a refund?

(18 Posts)
Realitea Mon 14-Dec-15 06:59:53

I always thought I was a pro when it comes to eBay but I'm a bit unsure here. I recently sold some boots on eBay and the buyer has said that they scuffed the first time they wore them and they don't believe they're real leather as described.
I was sure they were. As the buyer damaged the boots am I still required to offer a refund?

Dawndonnaagain Mon 14-Dec-15 07:16:19

Sounds like someone is trying to con you. Leather will scuff if treated badly.

Seeyounearertime Mon 14-Dec-15 07:18:50

Tell them to go away and open a dispute if they feel strongly.

With footwear, used or new, I would always put:
"No returns once worn" or the typical "please check for fit on soft carpet as refund will not be given once worn"
Etc etc.

lastnightiwenttomanderley Mon 14-Dec-15 07:29:28

We're they new boots? They should have had a material stamp somewhere (lining or sole). I'd argue that leather is more likely to scuff!

Tell them to pick their feet up! unhelpful

TwoSmellyDogs Mon 14-Dec-15 07:37:28

She's trying it on - she probably wants you to do a substantial part refund so she gets a pair of bargain boots for Christmas. Just don't entertain it. Of course leather will scuff if you scrape it - what planet is she on grin. Stay polite, tell her they are leather (if you're sure they are) and that you'll refund her when she obtains proof that they're not. Can you find the same boots online anywhere to check your position?

KakiFruit Mon 14-Dec-15 07:47:00

Let them open a dispute. Sounds like it would be found in your favour unless they can prove the boots weren't leather. Maybe you can forestall that by finding the spec online from wherever they were originally bought from, and sending that to the buyer as proof they ARE leather?

Aeroflotgirl Mon 14-Dec-15 08:05:46