Talk

Advanced search

To think if I had time to recover properly I wouldn't be constantly ill.

(13 Posts)
Orangeanddemons Tue 08-Dec-15 18:00:49

I seem to have been constantly ill since July. Shingles, back problems, endless coughs/colds, 3 stomach bugs( I work in a school...)

Staggered in to work today with headache, upset stomach etc. but when I'm ill I never have time to just stop and be ill. There's always something to do. If I could just stay in bed for a week, I think I'd be ok😰

LittlePixieMa Tue 08-Dec-15 18:16:40

Hey
Sending hugs to you. Can you take some time off work? X

OnlyLovers Tue 08-Dec-15 18:21:42

This happened to me a while ago (well, I just had a succession of colds, not the other stuff) and in the end went to the doctor, who signed me off for a week.

I felt guilty and panicky as I was quite junior and young at work, and thought that they'd think I was malingering, but my boss was very kind and the time off did me the world of good.

I slept and rested for most of the week and, even after going back to work, still had to have a nap every day when I got home for about a fortnight. Was quite shocked at how exhausted I'd obviously been. I clearly needed the time off.

Is it possible for you to take time off in this way? Sounds like you really need a break and to look after yourself.

Orangeanddemons Tue 08-Dec-15 18:28:00

I break up next week, so have holidays then. But they're not v restful iykwim. Dc to look after, presents to wrap. I just want to lie in bed for a whole day and be ill.

OnlyLovers Tue 08-Dec-15 18:29:10

Yes, I get it. Is there anyone else to help with the DC? Can you leave the presents a bit? Or, again, can someone else do them?

TimeToMuskUp Tue 08-Dec-15 18:31:33