Talk

Advanced search

New nursery expects all potential pupils be potty trained, even the 2 year olds.

(473 Posts)
FundraisingPTABitch Sun 06-Dec-15 22:14:29

That's it really. I'm new to this part of town, and so is this nursery.

When I enquired with the admin about this policy, they said every potential pupil must be potty trained.

AIBU to think this nursery can just fuck off? I will potty train my little child when both the child and I are both ready.

Ludicrous. Irresponsible! Elitist!

hibbleddible Sun 06-Dec-15 22:15:51

Yanbu. Most two year olds aren't potty trained.

Are there other nursery/childminder options?

DingbatsFur Sun 06-Dec-15 22:18:00

They probably don't do nappy changing. The pre-school groups here a few years ago took kids from 2 years 11 months provided they were toilet trained.

DPotter Sun 06-Dec-15 22:19:21

Yes quite ridiculous !

BlackeyedSusan Sun 06-Dec-15 22:19:23

bit shit if you have achild with special needs then. both mine have additional needs that made potty training later than two.

clareash99 Sun 06-Dec-15 22:19:34

quite normal rules, in my experience.

SellFridges Sun 06-Dec-15 22:21:17

My mum ran the playgroup in our village in the mid-80's. Even then any attendee had to be potty trained. So they could start at two, but only if they were trained. I don't think it's a new thing.

Snossidge Sun 06-Dec-15 22:21:37

They can expect children to be potty trained, but they can't insist.

Artandco Sun 06-Dec-15 22:23:22

Seems fine. Children can be trained by 2, almost all used to be. You don't have to train your child by 2 years of you don't want, but then you can't choose that nursery. Have to choose which you want

HeadDreamer Sun 06-Dec-15 22:23:35

I think they probably don't want two year olds. From what I can remember, very few at DD1s nursery were potty trained at 2. Some were still in nappies at 3.

HeadDreamer Sun 06-Dec-15 22:24:13

I mean those that just turned 2. Many are trained sometime between 2-3yo.