Talk

Advanced search

WIBU to delay house move because of this

(10 Posts)
PiperChapstick Tue 17-Nov-15 22:07:56

We're supposed to be moving into a new property in a months time, however searches haven't yet been completed and when we were at the house a few days ago looking round again the couple dropped the bombshell that they didn't get planning permission when they built the conservatory. The house was brand new when they bought it and the conservatory is enormous - it's what sold us the house really!

I haven't mentioned to solicitor yet, but after a bit of research I think anything under 70cubic metres doesn't need planning permission. Now I think the conservatory is much bigger than this - I say this as we moved abroad temporarily a few years ago and used a storage unit which was 120cubic metres and that space was smaller than this conservatory or it may be smaller and I'm just being thick

So, I have little knowledge on the subject as its been so long since I've bought, but I know they'd have to get retrospective planning permission. I'm guessing this won't be quick.

The other couple are elderly and moving to a bungalow as the husband is ill and struggles with stairs. Their bungalow needs a lot of work and they've booked a builder for mid-December - hence the need to move in a month. However, I don't want the planning permission responsibility to fall to us, WIBU to say I'm not moving til it's all sorted? The conservatory is unusually big and I'd be worried in case planning permission was rejected.

I'm so fed up, it's a dream house, everything we need within our budget near an excellent school and we have saved for years and years to be able to move, these homes seldom come up and I'd be heartbroken to lose it sad

Grilledaubergines Tue 17-Nov-15 22:10:03

Retrospective consent - speak to your solicitor, they'll advise.

littlepinkgiraffe Tue 17-Nov-15 22:15:08