Talk

Advanced search

To want to change career even though it won't benefit our family?

(8 Posts)
Backtonature Fri 13-Nov-15 14:13:12

When I was young I had always wanted to work in the beauty sector with a particular interest in makeup. I have always been very artistic. My parents told me that was a silly thing to do and a waste of my life and that I should get a degree and be a manager of some sort. So being me and being eager to make them proud I got a degree in economics and then didn't know how to get a job as a manager of some sort, so I got a job as an administrator! By the time I had dd I was on a good wage as a senior administrator in a boring job. I left to become a SAHM. My youngest will start pre-school next year, and then school the year after. So I have been thinking about what my plans will be to go back to work. I know there are lots of office jobs that are part time, I've been looking on reed. These would be great. Although dull. My dream would be to go back to college (which would cost a fortune) and get a qualification in make up artistry and apply for a job on a make up counter!! I've looked at various jobs and these seem to be part time although include early starts, late finishes and weekends which would clash with DH job and we would have to pay for childcare that may well cost more than I earn! But I really don't want to spend the rest of my life in admin sad I'm 32 now I want to go back to being 16 and start again! Is it too late?

Backtonature Fri 13-Nov-15 16:42:39

Bump

RunRabbitRunRabbit Fri 13-Nov-15 16:59:13

No of course it is not too late.

But are those really your only two options? I know lots of people who re-qualified in different jobs, often at about your age. Only a couple did the full-time option, few of us have that luxury. Most worked a job to pay the bills and did the study on top.

"it might clash with DH job" is not a reason to drop your dream.

RunRabbitRunRabbit Fri 13-Nov-15 17:02:05