Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To think there is some weird school gate culture I am just learning about?

(94 Posts)
Sweetpotatocurry Wed 11-Nov-15 16:50:20

I have a ds in nursery, and we just moved to Scotland in the summer. Ever since he started nursery I have noticed some kind of weirdness with some mums. I always do my best to be friendly and say hello, smile etc, even if my baby is screaming at drop-off etc, I am pretty friendly by nature anyhow, but am also conscious I might be seeing these ladies for many years to come, so of course I make an effort. A couple of mums are friendly and quite 'normal' but others blow really hot and cold...one day they are all chat, the next they don't even say hello. Some are very cliquey and ignore me if I say hi, and I know they see me, and very few will bother introducing me to others. I know everyone is busy and might be under pressure, but I asked an old friend and she said that this is typical of the nursery/school gate mums. My ds has been behaving well as far as I know, so don't think it is that. I haven't had the chance to offend anyone! I lived in London before this and most mums at nursery were fairly consistent (friendly or otherwise!) So is my friend right?

laffymeal Wed 11-Nov-15 16:55:13

It's not a "Scottish" thing op, you get good and bad playground experiences everywhere. On the whole mines were very positive and I'm still very close with a few people I met from dcs primary school, there were a couple of oddballs too.

x2boys Wed 11-Nov-15 16:56:45

i find the best way to deal with it is to be polite and friendly enough but i have never tried to cultivate friends at school ds1 has been there since nursery and is in yr 4 now i smile and chat but leave it at that.

EnaSharplesHairnet Wed 11-Nov-15 16:57:04

I found it depended on the school. One was exceptionally friendly and one school gate was downright weird and the others were in the middle!