Talk

Advanced search

Is this poor form?

(19 Posts)
ImmaAWaspImmaABee Wed 04-Nov-15 22:11:55

I'm an entrance exam/KS2 tutor. I am degree-qualified but as this is the first year I have tutored at this level (although I am tutoring other subjects too), I started my rates off at v reasonable prices. I charge £16 per hour and provide all my own resources.

However I have been receiving consistently good feedback from parents and have high demand. Other tutors in my area charge anything from £25-40 per hour for the same service.

Is it poor form to hike my prices up by, say, £5 for existing students?

ImmaAWaspImmaABee Wed 04-Nov-15 22:12:53

I think it probably is isn't it. I would obviously then not change the rates again for at least a year or two. Just feel like I'm undervaluing my skill set slightly.

JemimaHighway Wed 04-Nov-15 22:14:13

Yes. You want to increase prices by 25%?!

Why don't you wait until this year passes and you can prove your abilities by for example, saying you have 95% passing CE

ImmaAWaspImmaABee Wed 04-Nov-15 22:14:48

Ok point taken, thanks smilesmile

TheHouseOnTheLane Wed 04-Nov-15 22:15:17

I think it is poor form. I would be very unhappy with it as a parent. What you could do is let people know that from January the price will be raised.

ImmaAWaspImmaABee Wed 04-Nov-15 22:17:03

Ok, yes I do agree. Will wait until (hopefully!) I have passes smile

fastdaytears Wed 04-Nov-15 22:18:10

Great that you're getting such good feedback. Can you increase your charges for new students and leave existing as it is?

BlueJug Wed 04-Nov-15 22:18:11

Yep, poor form to hike the price halfway through when the kids are settled - there is not much parents can do. Warn them as PP suggests or wait until you have a year's results to show.

Nohopeformethen Wed 04-Nov-15 22:18:19

Why not increase for new customers only?

chantico Wed 04-Nov-15 22:18:54

Of course it's not unreasonable to review your prices periodically.