Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To hand my notice in at Christmas and leave at the end of spring term

(37 Posts)
DennyDifferent Sun 01-Nov-15 18:20:47

It would mean I would be leaving at the end of March.

I am a teacher and I think my school is probably more supportive than average and the work load/expectations a,t least as manageable as most schools. However, this year I just cannot get my shit together with regards to feeling anxious and stressed. I am able to do my job, management even think I do it well, but inside I am in turmoil, I'm having panic attacks and anxiety. I just don't want to be a teacher any more.

I feel that I should stick it at least until Christmas as I could change my mind and "snap out of it". I think I should hand my notice when we come back in Jan, that way they have 10 weeks to fill my post. The thought of doing a whole year is nearly enough to make me cry, If I do it this way I will be finished in 5 months, waiting till the end of the year would mean nearly four months more.

AIBU to leave at the end of the spring term?

Just for background this is my 5th year teaching, second in this school. I have felt this way before, did some supply and felt a bit better then joined my current school full time.

cece Sun 01-Nov-15 18:23:52

Could you ask to go part time? I found this helped my anxiety a lot!

Mistigri Sun 01-Nov-15 18:27:18

If you are having panic attacks, then the very first thing you should do is see your GP.

If you can afford to leave and do supply work then I wouldn't blame you if you resigned - the recent thread on teachers leaving the profession was an eye-opener!

Orangeanddemons Sun 01-Nov-15 18:28:31

I found going part time didn't change anything. I still have anxiety about the whole thing

Junosmum Sun 01-Nov-15 18:33:36