Talk

Advanced search

to be totally pissed off at English house buying system.

(21 Posts)
lurkerspeaks Sat 10-Oct-15 11:28:02

I'm Scottish, in mitigation, trying to buy in England having bought and sold several times before North of the border. They system here seems bonkers to me. I'm not a lawyer but my understanding of the Scottish system for those who don't know is that an offer becomes legally binding after the exchange of missives (a series of letters) which typically takes around two weeks to sort out. In practice though because you offer solicitor to solicitor and the law society code of conducts states that it is improper to act for a party who has reneged on an offer so if you want to do this you have to get another solicitor to act for you. The net results is that it is very rare for a sale not to proceed once an offer is accepted. (I've never heard of it happening in real life).

In my case which has prompted my ire I had an offer on a property accepted on Wednesday via Agent 1. Property was marketed via two agents (Agent 1 & Agent 2).

The vendors agreed that they would cancel all future viewings and take the property off the market.

On Friday I get a phone call to inform me that actually Agent 2 had carried out viewings on Thursday and had an offer higher than mine.

The ultimate upshot is that they have now agreed to sell the property to that person after attempting to incite a bidding war between us.

The estate agent code of practice says that
"Continuation of Marketing