Talk

Advanced search

to refuse this job?

(5 Posts)
ChopinLizst Wed 12-Aug-15 20:00:16

I work as an in-house lawyer, part-time, for a consulting company. My usual remit is things like writing letters, checking over and writing contracts and very occasionally representing the company in court. I also advise on strategy where appropriate.

There has been a case on-going for a good few weeks now which I have been heavily involved in. It's almost (hopefully!) at a close. One of the last things involves going to court next Monday morning. As expected, I was passed the brief for this and I began to prepare.

Unfortunately, at the beginning of this week I became ill. Very ill. And this illness has wiped me out totally. I usually tend to try and push through episodes like this, but in this case I just couldn't and told my boss as much.

Understandably he's quite stressed about the whole thing, but on the night I told him how ill I was he sent me text after drunken text which I only saw in the morning. The last text at midnight was something along the lines of "And no response! Great. We need someone who can commit to this company whatever. I'm sorry that you're ill but I hope you understand my situation. I think it's time to pass this over to someone who's there 100%".

I was annoyed that he was criticising me for not replying at midnight when I'd told him I was ill. I have always gone over and above what I need to for this role. I am always working evenings and weekends for him. I don't mind, but when he takes the attitude he has done, it grates!

So he decided that he was going to employ Counsel to come in and represent. He was very happy with this and told me to do a handover. I wasn't entirely sorry because for me to attend the hearing would involve either leaving home at 5am on the day or travelling up the night before (Sunday) which would cut into my weekend (I have DC).