Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to wonder if that was a panic attack..?

(11 Posts)
UngratefulMoo Mon 10-Aug-15 10:20:09

I don't work on Mondays, but have a demanding job the rest of the time, with quite a bit of responsibility. I've just got back from taking the cat to the vet with 2yo DD in tow. Got in and discovered I had missed a call from my boss about a project which hasn't been going that well. Answerphone when I called him back. All normal, except when I put the phone down I just experienced a huge wave of dizziness and feeling sick and have had to come and sit down with a glass of water. DD, fortunately, is playing quietly with her toys (miracle). I am starting to feel better (15 mins later), although still anxious about getting a phone call from my boss on my day off.
Does that sound like a panic attack, or am I overreacting?

Charis1 Mon 10-Aug-15 10:21:47

doesn't sound like a panic attack to me, but i am no expert. Sound more like a virus or something.

TenForward82 Mon 10-Aug-15 10:22:29

It could have been, alternatively you could have just had a drop in your blood sugar. It sounds more like a pending faint than a heart-thumping panic attack. Were you standing up?

Source: I suffer from PAs.

laffymeal Mon 10-Aug-15 10:25:36

I don't think so, I suffered from them in the past and a fully blown one was accompanied by sobbing uncontrollably and hyperventilating. You just got a bit freaked out by your boss ringing on your day off which is perfectly natural. Don't give it any more thought.

UngratefulMoo Mon 10-Aug-15 10:27:23

Ok, thank you. It just freaked me out a bit with the overwhelming dizziness and sick feeling (and I was feeling anxious). I will get over myself.

CoogerAndDark Mon 10-Aug-15 10:30:43

Adrenaline rush? I have had that when something goes wrong.

I'd see your GP for a general check up, blood pressure etc, when you can" not as an emergency, just to reassure you or pick up on anything.

Redshoes55 Mon 10-Aug-15 10:30:46