Talk

Advanced search

to think that seocndary school grading is almost entirely uncomprehensible

(36 Posts)
Elsiegrote Thu 23-Jul-15 01:09:29

I have a masters degree and professional qualification which requires a high level of analytical skills and numeracy but when I look at my DS end of year 8 report my eyes glaze over and quite frankly I have no idea how he is doing.

I looked at secondary school talk boards and got even more confused. What is level 7/8/ 9 or 10. Is a better than b .......

Do other parents who are not teachers feel the same?

Elsiegrote Thu 23-Jul-15 01:11:03

By the way - I can spell too but obvs not seocandary as that is mainly a level 6 b recurring word

NewsreaderChic Thu 23-Jul-15 01:16:10

No, not really. It's no different to primary school grades. You leave primary with a level, let's say it a 4b which is the national average and are expected to move up two sub levels per year. So by the end of year seven you'd get a 5c and year eight a 5a.

BitOfFun Thu 23-Jul-15 01:39:00

I always felt the same reading my dd's reports. Or MOPs, as they were called. So I paid more attention to the difference (if there was one) between her current level and her target, and to the teacher's comments. Until they called her by an entirely different name and I had to admit defeat and phone them.

C&P and universal software has a lot to answer for...

Anniesaunt Thu 23-Jul-15 06:03:49

I don't understand any of the school gradings in English schools. No idea what level is supposed to be reached and when. Have asked several times but never received a satisfactory answer.

CatsandCrumble Thu 23-Jul-15 06:18:16

I had the same issue, never had the faintest idea what the levels meant. I'm now working in education and getting my head around them, just as they are being removed and schools can each use their own system.

Spermysextowel Thu 23-Jul-15 06:24:04