Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To not understand why people rave about Aldi.....

(180 Posts)
TwilightMad Sat 18-Jul-15 15:59:15

When, IMO it sells cheap, nasty, horrible food! I'm usually a Tesco shopper but I thought last month i'd try Aldi out, and to say I was disappointed was an understatement!

The fruit, yes was cheaper but it is also smaller in quantities and the raspberrys, strawberrys and blueberries looked mouldy and soft. The meat, especially the chicken was extremely fatty and the mince actually looked off and was a nasty grey colour! The tinned stuff was tasteless, the curry sauces were overloaded with too much spice and cheap ingredients and the chocolate was disgusting, so Aibu to not get why everyone goes mad for the place?.....

SocietyClowns Sat 18-Jul-15 16:01:03

I agree. Try Lidl, it's much much better.

Chottie Sat 18-Jul-15 16:02:57

I hear you Twilight I'm not good at shopping in Aldi either.

<hands tin hat to Twilight before ducking>

bigbuttons Sat 18-Jul-15 16:03:44

I love it, love lidl too. I have not experienced what you have. I also love how much money I save. The carlos pizzas are the only ones my kids will eat and they're bloody cheap. Their raspberry jam is the best I've ever tasted. I could go on and on, but I doubt you will be converted!Keep shopping at overpriced tesco wink

ilovesooty Sat 18-Jul-15 16:04:02

There seem to be some sweeping generalisations in that OP.

MrsGentlyBenevolent Sat 18-Jul-15 16:04:44

Also agree, Lidl is far better. They have those lush cheese and chive crisps for one wink. I can never find any decent veg in Aldi either, and I found what looked like bone in their smart priced bacon the other day. Good for cheap freezer fillers though!

SlaggyIsland Sat 18-Jul-15 16:04:48

I've never managed to like Aldi. I try it every year or so thinking I must be missing something, but no.

IamTheWhoreofBabylon Sat 18-Jul-15 16:05:08

I agree OP