Replying to birthday invite.

(6 Posts)
Lovewearingjeans Sun 21-Jun-15 11:40:53

Right, going to try not to drip feed. I fell out with a friend just under a year ago. I heard from a colleague that she was pregnant (I work in a school, and she is a parent there, and used to do supply there too.). Unbeknown to me the info had come out from a meeting she had had at school. Anyway, that's a whole other issue.
I then text her to say congrats, as I thought it was common knowledge, she was 18 weeks by then. I said nothing to anyone else but her. She text me back saying thank you, but how had I heard as she hadn't told many people. For various reasons I didn't reply immediately, and she text me again the next day, with a cross tone, about who told me. I then text her back with colleagues name, she then accused me of lying about it, and saying really horrible, hurtful things. All in all about 6 messages that were very vicious. Four hours later I received all the vicious texts again. I then blocked her from contacting me through text and social media. I kept the texts and showed them to colleagues and mutual good friends of ours, who also thought they were very unhinged.
Anyway, our sons are of very similar ages, and our youngest are best friends. I have tried not to let this affect their friendship. We had to postpone my youngest 7th birthday because he was really poorly, ended up in hospital for a couple of days, so had to cancel all plans which included her son coming with us. This weekend coming, we are having the postponed birthday. I haven't yet received any RSVP from her (I have now unblocked her from texts). I am just really pissed off that it feels like she has control over the situation, and that I have to run round and find out what is going on.