Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to think performing exorcisms on children is abuse?

(70 Posts)
Anonimoose Sat 20-Jun-15 20:11:13

Someone I know has done this to their 10 and 11 year olds. I feel rather uneasy about it. AIBU?

BackInTheRealWorld Sat 20-Jun-15 20:11:56

Nope I agree with you.

mrsdavidbowie Sat 20-Jun-15 20:12:58

Of course its abuse! Report them.

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

chickenfuckingpox Sat 20-Jun-15 20:16:09

its just a candle book and bell job? no actual physical harm involved?

chickenfuckingpox Sat 20-Jun-15 20:16:39

i thought the catholic church prohibited those?

UnspecialSnowflake Sat 20-Jun-15 20:17:55

What made these people think their children needed exorcising? Are they members of some kind of fundamentalist church?

I'm no expert but from what I've read exorcisms can take diffrent forms, from a kind of prayer and blessing ceremony to full on physical assault. If it's the former then while their reasons for doing it are dubious at best the ceremony itself was probably not traumatic for the children, if it's the latter then it's time to call SS.

chickenfuckingpox Sat 20-Jun-15 20:20:55

ok so its basically a prayer thing not really harmful though is it? ive Wikipedia it and all the major religions apart from Jews just use a prayer ritual to cast out demons the Jews seem to use a type of potion too

chickenfuckingpox Sat 20-Jun-15 20:22:01

unless its a wacky church cult type thing? is it?

WorraLiberty Sat 20-Jun-15 20:23:18

I think it's pretty emotionally harmful to convince a child they have demons inside them, that need to be got rid of.

manicinsomniac Sat 20-Jun-15 20:24:00

It depends chicken , it's not necessarily as 'harmless' as prayers and candles (even that could be frightening and psychologically harmful.)

Some 'churches' practise exorcism that includes ritual beating, whipping and screaming in people's faces. It can be horrifically abusive.

Anonimoose Sat 20-Jun-15 20:24:50