Talk

Advanced search

Party pooper!

(11 Posts)
ostrichneck Mon 15-Jun-15 15:28:05

I have a ds from a previous relationship and am pregnant with my partner. We are engaged and have our wedding booked for November next year. I will go on maternity leave in January.

I must admit, we are not doing things by halves.... Pregnancy before wedding is enough, but we also are doing up the house, I am studying part time while working full time. When I go on ML, I will go from a £30k a year job to SMP at £139 a week. I currently have a saving pot for the wedding (which is being added to by our parents also), I have a saving pot for Christmas, and I have a little squirelled away saving pot for anything I may need while I am on ML. DH2B would never see me go without, I could ask for money at any given time and he wouldn't even ask what it was for. But when it comes around to things like his birthday, father's day or coffees with the other mums for example, I would like to be able to pay for these things myself. Not to mention my insistence to defend my independence to the death!!