Talk

Advanced search

To feel frightened about going into work now?

(14 Posts)
steppedonlego Fri 05-Jun-15 09:38:08

I work in the care sector and have done for a decade. Yesterday on shift I was on close observations with a patient (I can't go into too many details because of confidentiality) but the patient took a swipe at me after becoming very agitated. I shouted for help and three other staff came and looked, before walking away. They knew what had happened because I told them, but they just didn't come to help me. This is dangerous not only for me, but for the patient, because if he had attempted to attack me again I would have been forced to protect myself which could have resulted in injury for both of us.

I demanded that someone come and take over observations and spoke to all the staff members concerned about what they had done and why this wasn't acceptable to me, and they all were extremely apologetic and accepted they had acted wrongly. I would say this was out of character for all of them, as they have always been excellent colleagues otherwise.

But now I am feeling sick at the thought of returning to work. The risk of being attacked by a patient is always present, but something I have learnt to cope with over the years, and I have always previously been confident that I have my colleagues to back me up and make sure that any situation will be resolved quickly with minimal risk to everyone involved including the patient, but that confidence has been severely knocked now.

AIBU to still feel anxious and fearful about a potential situation arising again where they do not react appropriately despite their reassurances it won't happen again?

timeforabrewnow Fri 05-Jun-15 09:43:53

YANBU - that's awful. Have you reported the incident in writing to your line manager? If not, do, as this was a safety issue and you should have had the proper back up.