...to ask for your funny in law stories to make me feel better?

(220 Posts)
Oobis Tue 28-Apr-15 11:38:12

Hi, I'm new to using this, so I apologise if this topic has been done to death! My FIL is a nightmare. There isn't space on here to go into detail, but I was hoping for some comical stories to make me feel better about my narcissistic, arrogant, misogynistic nitwit.

CatthiefKeith Tue 28-Apr-15 11:44:46

Mil turned up 59 hours into my labour with her hair freshly done, that morning, 'for the photos'.

Then, as I lay unconscious after the emergency c-section and my baby was whisked off to ICU she stopped the doctors by standing in front of them with her hand up so she could see dd before I did. And then she told me as soon as I came round. grin

She's batshit, but she doesn't mean to be. She actually means quite well most of the time but has no social skills, or tact, whatsoever.

Either that or she's very spiteful and I am extremely naive!grin

catgirl1976 Tue 28-Apr-15 11:45:57

Hmm.

MIL is Southern, and has barely left the SE (Tunbridge Wells).

I live in the North, though in a very naice place.

When I first met MIL she asked if my family ate large Yorkshire puddings because we couldn't afford meat. hmm

She also asked if my family walked around naked a lot, as Northerners do (we don't - it's fucking freezing - not sure where she got this from).

When she ventured North to visit us she was astounded that there were houses and trees and birds in the sky and not a Victorian Mill in sight. She also couldn't get over the fact that where I live is a million times nicer than TW. The downside of this is that she keeps threatening to move here. sad

hashbrownnofilter Tue 28-Apr-15 11:48:51